

Venice Neighborhood Council

PO Box 550, Venice, CA 90294 / www.VeniceNC.org Email: info@VeniceNC.org / Phone or Fax: 310.606.2015



March 20, 2008

Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa City of Los Angeles City Hall, 200 Spring Street Los Angeles, California 90012

Reference: Senate Bill 1818 (SB1818) State of California mandated density bonuses

and adopted February 20, 2008 by Los Angeles City Council

Dear Mayor Villaraigosa:

The Venice Neighborhood Council's Board of Officers at a regular meeting March 18, 2008, moved (11-1-1) to write letters to our LA City Council members, yourself, all neighborhood councils and Ms. S. Gail Goldberg, Director of Planning, urging the following actions:

- 1. Strongly support Ms. Jane Ellison Usher, President of the Los Angeles City Planning Commission, in her opposition to the City of Los Angeles's implementing 05-1345 Ordnance, (relative to amending Sections 12.22, 12.24, 14.00 and 19.01 of the Los Angeles Municipal Code to implement a Density Bonus Program, as required by State law) expressed in her letter of March 2008; and
- 2. Request that the VNC Board of Officers insist that CEQA requirements on new development projects in the Venice area be maintained as part of any permit approval process by the City of Los Angeles; and
- 3. Request that the City of Los Angeles pass a resolution asking the State of California to exempt the City of Los Angeles from SB1818; and
- 4. Request that the City of Los Angeles repeal its implementing Ordnance 05-1345 regarding SB1818, or exempt Venice from its coverage; and
- 5. Request that the City of Los Angeles disallow any density bonus for a proposed development that results in a net reduction of rent-stabilized housing.

Sincerely,

Mike Newhouse, President

Venice Neighborhood Council

H:\VNC 07-09\3.18.08 Board Meeting\Letters\2008-03-18 VNC motion in opposition draft letter and distribution list-Antonio Villiaragosa.doc

Menho



Venice Neighborhood Council

PO Box 550, Venice, CA 90294 / www.VeniceNC.org Email: info@VeniceNC.org / Phone or Fax: 310.606.2015



Distribution List:

<u>Antonio.Villaragosa@lacity.org</u> <u>Gail.Goldberg@lacity.org</u>, Director of Planning

Gerry.Miller@lacity.org,

LA CITY COUNCIL MEMBERS:

Ed.Reyes@lacity.org

Wendy.Greuel@lacity.org

Tom.LaBonge@lacity.org

Jack.Weiss@lacity.org

Tony.Cardenas@lacity.org

Richard.Alarcon@lacity.org

Bernard.Parks@lacity.org

Jan.Perry@lacity.org

Herb.Wesson@lacity.org

Bill.Rosendahl@lacity.org

Greig.Smith@lacity.org

Eric.Garcetti@lacity.org

Jose.Huizar@lacity.org

Janice.Hahn@lacity.org

Yoko.Sexton@lacity.org, Secretary for LA Council for distribution

PLANNING COMMISSION:

Jane. Usher@lacity.org

James. Williams@lacity.org, Exec. Assistant to WLA APC for distribution

Barbara.Greaves@lacity.org, LA City Clerk's office

DONE, <u>www.lacityneighborhoods.org</u>, to forward to all NC Presidents and land use committees.

secretary@venicenc.org

H:\VNC 07-09\3.18.08 Board Meeting\Letters\2008-03-18 VNC motion in opposition draft letter and distribution list-Antonio Villiaragosa.doc